Chryst named B1G Coach of the Year

Chryst is the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Madison - Three more awards were delivered to Camp Randall as the Big Ten Conference announced its individual football awards.

Wisconsin head coach Paul Chryst is the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year. His fellow coaches and the media made it official Thursday morning. It's the second straight season Chryst earned the honor.

The former Badgers quarterback (1984-'87) and offensive coordinator (2005-'11) is 33-6 in three seasons as head coach at UW.

Chryst guided #4 Wisconsin to its first-ever appearance in the College Football Playoff top four and its first-ever 12 and 0 season. The Badgers finished the Big Ten season unbeaten for the first time since 1912.

Running back Jonathan Taylor was given the Thompson-Randle El award for the Big Ten's top freshman. Taylor leads the conference with 1,806 rushing yards, and he was second with 13 total touchdowns.

Tight end Troy Fumagalli earned the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year award. Fumagalli has 38 catches for 471 yards and 4 TDs.

UW faces #8 Ohio St. (10-2) in the Big Ten Championship this weekend. Kickoff is set for Saturday night at 7 P.M. in Indianapolis. This is the Badgers' fifth appearance in the title game (2-2). The Buckeye are making their third trip to the conference championship (1-1).