High school, college, and pro stars honored at the Wisconsin Sports Awards

The Brewers win over the Cubs to clinch the NL Central title was named Moment of the Year.

The 8th annual Wisconsin Sports Awards took over the Fiserv Forum on Thursday night. They honor excellence in individual and team performance from high school to the pros over the last year. The awards were created and produced by Good Karma Brands.

Good Karma Brands, LLC (GKB) is primarily a media and marketing company with an expertise in leveraging the power of sports to build brands. For more information, please visit

High School Football Player of the Year:

Leo Chenal, Grantsburg High School

Rick Majerus Boys High School Basketball Player of the Year:

Jalen Johnson, Nicolet High School

Goodwill Power of Work Girls High School Basketball Player of the Year:

McKenna Warnock, Monona Grove High School

High School Athlete of the Year:

Brock Schlough, Boyceville High School

Fiduciary Management Marc Marotta College Athlete of the Year:

Jonathan Taylor, University of Wisconsin Football

Professional Athlete of the Year, presented by Palermo’s Pizza:

Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers

Bang Energy Breakthrough Athlete of the Year:

Davante Adams, Green Bay Packers

Moment of the Year, presented by Saint Kate – The Arts Hotel:

October 1, 2018 – Game 163 – Milwaukee Brewers win NL Central over Chicago Cubs at Wrigley Field

Individual Performance of the Year, presented by Wheels Up.:

Markus Howard (Marquette University) scores 53 points vs. Creighton.

Gruber Law Offices “One Call That’s All” Coach of the Year:

Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks

Athlete of the Year, presented by BMO Harris Bank:

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks

The Home Market Team of the Year:

2018-2019 Milwaukee Bucks

Homegrown Athlete of the Year, presented by Cousins Subs:

Craig Counsell, Milwaukee Brewers

American Family Insurance Community Involved Athlete of the Year:

Ryan Braun, Christian Yelich and Mike Moustakas for California Strong

Inspirational Athlete of the Year, presented by Husch Blackwell:

Hanan Ali